An Ode to Insomnia

This is a nearby park at night.  yes, night.  The sun has set hours ago.  It is night, night, night, as dark as it gets in Tokyo unless the weather is just crystal-clear, neither haze nor cloud in the sky.  Welcome to a city that, while it sleeps more than those in America, truly needn’t, because it’s always bright!

This is a nearby park at night. yes, night. The sun has set hours ago. It is night, night, night, as dark as it gets in Tokyo unless the weather is just crystal-clear, neither haze nor cloud in the sky. Welcome to a city that, while it sleeps more than those in America, truly needn’t, because it’s always bright!

O, little light, you shine so bright,
Into my window late at night.
You make the darkness run with fright,
O, little light outside.

O, little light that shall not go,
Illuminating all I know
Inside my room, just feet below.
In covers, though, I hide.

O, tiny spot through frosted pane,
You shine each night above, the same.
Will not you for one moment wane,
Or have you even tried?

O, little light, though friend you be,
You always glow so close to me:
Though eyes are shut, still you I see,
So close to my bedside.

O, friendly lamp, who put you there?
Into my realm you always stare,
Not a moment’s rest you spare.
My eyes are open wide.

O, light, art thou a friend to me?
Though darkness, too, a friend can be,
I see not an escape from thee,
‘Til finally I cried:

“O, cursed light, turn off your glow!
I cannot get to sleep, you know!
I try and tried for hours, though!
By this I can’t abide!

“O demon flash that stares herein,
Why casteth thou an eye-felt din?
Against thee I commit no sin,
Yet shelvy porvis-kride!!

“O, light you make me go insane,
I make up words and feel no shame!”
Alarm, alarm!  To school again!
I wake on the wrong-side.

>.<

— Scott Harper, 2008

Leave a Reply

